The Hawaii Chapter SPJ is sponsoring a live television debate between Gov. Linda Lingle and her Democratic challenger Randy Iwase from 7 to 8 p.m. Oct. 6.

It will be broadcast live on KITV-4, KHON-TV and KHNL-TV. KGMB-TV will broadcast it later. The debate will take place in KITV's studio.

Gerald Kato, head of the University of Hawaii journalism department, will be the moderator.

The chapter thanks Lynette Lo Tom and Wally Zimmermann of Bright Light Marketing for helping to make this possible. Lynette, long active in Hawaii Chapter SPJ, donated the time of veteran TV newsman Zimmermann, who is producing the debate.



Many thanks to Emily Viglielmo, Craig DeSilva, Dave and Leonor Briscoe, Vicki Viotti and Stirling Morita for volunteering in the PBS pledge drive.




SPJ News Release

Monday July 31, 2006


Christine Tatum, President-elect, (303) 881-8702, ctatum@spj.org

Beth King, Communications Manager, (317) 927-8000, ext. 211, bking@spj.org

SPJ recognizes Hawaii Pro chapter with Circle of Excellence Award

INDIANAPOLIS – The Society of Professional Journalists, the nation’s most broad based journalism advocacy organization, is pleased to honor the Hawaii Pro chapter with a Circle of Excellence Award. The chapter is one of 10 recipients of the prestigious awards.

Annually, SPJ recognizes chapters for outstanding work during the preceding year in five areas: First Amendment and Freedom of Information activity; campus relations and scholarship activities; activities promoting diversity among journalists; professional development and continuing-education programs; and chapter communications. Awards are given for each category to one large (75 or more members) and one small (fewer than 75 members) professional chapter.

The Hawaii Pro Chapter has received the small chapter award for co-sponsoring panels that looked at the state of FOI, locally and nationally. Panelists included FOI attorney Joe Steinfield, Hawaii state Sen. Les Ihara and Honolulu Advertiser Editor Saundra Keyes. Additionally, the chapter challenged the Honolulu City Council for using one-on-one serial communications to gather votes and circumvent the open meetings law.

"These awards represent tireless hours of journalism advocacy, which is desperately needed right now," said Christine Tatum, SPJ’s president-elect. "We honor these chapters because they work incredibly hard to deliver top-notch professional training to journalists nationwide and to help the general public better understand the importance of how a free and fair press is vital to democracy."

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

- END-


June 27, 2006

Many thanks to the judges of the Region X (Pacific Northwest) and Ohio contests:

June 22, 2006

The East-West Center, Friends of the East-West Center,

Pacific and Asian Affairs Council and Society of Professional Journalists

cordially invite you to a luncheon seminar on

Building Understanding between the

United States and the Asian Muslim World




June 22, 2006


Hawaii Imin International

Conference Center

Garden Level

1777 East-West Road


11:30 — Registration

12:00 Noon — Luncheon


$20.00 — cosponsor members

$22.00 — non members

Please RSVP by June 19



(Please pay at guard kiosk on East-West Road and display flyer on dashboard.)

Limited parking available on grass area between the Imin International Conference Center and Lincoln Hall.



944-7363 (Fax)

Email: ewcinfo@eastwestcenter.org

Website: www.EastWestCenter.org

Journalists representing media in the United States and Asian countries with substantial Muslim

populations, specifically from Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Singapore, and Pakistan will present

observations and analyses as part of their participation in the Senior Journalists Seminar, an EWC

travel, study, and dialogue program. This program offers an opportunity for senior reporters,

columnists, and producers to engage their peers on issues that have hurt relations between these

Asian countries and the U.S., especially since 9/11.

2005 program participants meeting with

Congressional Research Service staff.

2006 Senior Journalists Seminar Participants:

Bangladesh: Mr. Abdul Quayum, Joint Editor, Prothom Alo, Dhaka

India: Ms. Aisha Khan, Reporter, Munsif Daily, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Mr. George Thomas, Chief Sub-Editor, Malayala Manorama, Trivandrum, Kerala

Indonesia: Mr. Mauludin Anwar, News Producer, SCTV, Jakarta

Ms. Najwa Shihab, Anchor, MetroTV, Jakarta

Malaysia: Ms. Norzie Pak Wan Chek, Executive Broadcast Journalist and Anchor, TV3, Kuala Lumpur

Pakistan: Mr. Imtiaz, Reporter, BBC Pashto Service, Peshawar

Mr. Muhammad Ayub, Deputy Editor, The News, Lahore

United States: Mr. Timothy Connolly, International Editor, Dallas Morning News, Dallas, Texas

Mr. David Crumm, Religion Writer, Detroit Free Press, Detroit, Michigan

Mr. William J. Dobson, Managing Editor, Foreign Policy, Washington, DC

Mr. David Hage, Senior Editorial Writer and Columnist, Minneapolis Star Tribune,

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mr. Larry Johnson, Foreign Desk Editor, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Seattle, Washington

Ms. Margaret McGurk, Features Writer, Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati, Ohio

Registration Form: Luncheon/Seminar with the Jefferson Fellows June 22, 2006

Name(s): _______________________________________________________________________ Phone: ________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________ Vegetarian: _________________

Please make checks payable to: East-West Center and mail to: EWC Office of External Affairs, 1601 East-West Road,

Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96848-1601. You may also fax in your reservation form to 944-7376. No shows will be billed. Please submit RSVPs

by June 19, 2006. For information, please call 944-7111 or email ewcinfo@eastwestcenter.org. If you would like to receive email

announcements of future East-West Center events, please print your email address below.