Thanks to the Judges

The Louisville Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists judged the Hawaii 2016 contest. Honolulu Star-Advertiser Managing Editors Betty Shimabukuro and Mike Rovner judge the Magazine Overall Page Design category. The following judges judged the Louisville contest:

Environment Hawai'i
Teresa Dawson
Pat Tummons

Hawaii News Now
Jobeth Devera
Scott Humber
Mahealani Richardson
Brenda Salgado

Hawaii Public Radio
Bill Dorman

Mokihana Aki
Linda Dela Cruz
Rob Demello
Jennifer Humphrey
Ben Silva
Marisa Yamane

Pacific Business News
Janis Magin
Kam Napier

PacificBasin Communications
Robbie Dingeman
Catherine Toth Fox
Kelsey Ige
Daniel Ito
Anne Lee
Lavonne Leong
Kristin Lipman
Christi Young

Honolulu Civil Beat
Patti Epler
Nick Grube
Rui Kaneya
Jessica Terrell

Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sjarif Goldstein
Martha Hernandez
Nanea Kalani
Stirling Morita
Dennis Oda
Charlene Robinson
Christie Wilson
Lucy Young Oda

University of Hawaii
Julien Gorbach
Brett Oppegaard

West Hawaii Today
Nancy Cook Lauer

Aloha, Wally


Wally Zimmermann's memorial
was held March 3 at Maunalua
Bay.Family sets up memorial fund.
SPJ's TV internships named after

Facebook: Wally Zimmermann
Internships in Television
Broadcast Journalism

Thank you to the Hawaii judges of
the Colorado SPJ Top of the Rockies

Environment Hawai’I: Teresa Dawson, Pat Tummons

Honolulu Star-Advertiser: John Bender Jackie Carberry, Christina Chun, Susan Essoyan, Sjarif Goldstein, Martha Hernandez, Stirling Morita, Curtis Murayama, Charlene Robinson, Lucy Young Oda

West Hawaii Today: Nancy Cook Lauer

Honolulu magazine: Robbie Dingeman, Alyson Helwagen, Kristin Lipman, Lennie Omalza, Cat Toth

Honolulu Family Magazine: Christi Young

Hawaii Home and Remodeling Magazine: Tom Kunz

Hawaii Magazine: Matthew Dekneef, Christine Hitt

Hawaii Business: Jen Tadaki Catanzariti, Warren Daubert, Gina Gelber, Dennis Hollier, Steve Petranik

Circle of Blue: Codi Kozacek

Former AP: Dave Briscoe

Maui News: Brad Sherman

Hawaii Public Radio: Bill Dorman

Thanks to the Hawaii judges of
the Connecticut contest

Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Christina Chun
Stirling Morita

Charlene Robinson

Lucy Young-Oda


Lara Yamada
Pacific Basin Communications

Kristin Lipman
Christi Young

Thanks to the Hawaii judges
of the Kansas City Press Club contest

Associated Press

Dave Briscoe, retired

Circle of Blue

Codi Kozacek

Environment Hawaii

Teresa Dawson

Hawaii News Now

Keoki Kerr

Brenda Salgado

Hawaii Public Radio

Bill Dorman

Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Susan Essoyan

Sjarif Goldstein

Stirling Morita

Curtis Murayama

Christie Wilson


Jennnifer Brink

Sean Ibara

Justin Kanno

Marisa Yamane


Robert Kekaula

Nathan Serota

Pacific Basin Communications

Mike Keany
Diane Lee

Lennie Omalza

Trade Publishing

David Putnam

West Hawaii Today

Nancy Cook Lauer

Ernie Pyle memorial


Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation Hosts 70th Anniversary Memorial Event

On April 18 the Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation will host the Ernie Pyle 70th

Anniversary Memorial Ceremony, in Honolulu at the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific

where Pyle is buried. The ceremony is to commemorate the death of World War II Scripps-

Howard feature columnist and foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle who was killed in 1945 by

enemy fire.

A memorial stone will be dedicated to honor both the soldiers who gave their lives in WWII and

Pyle who was embedded with them and reported on their personal stories that appeared in 400

daily and 300 weekly newspapers across the country. Key speaker includes Indiana University

Associate Professor Emeritus Owen Johnson.

The event starts at 9:45 a.m. April 18, 2015 at Punchbowl.

About the Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation:

The Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to maintaining

the memory and legacy of World War II correspondent Ernie Pyle. The Ernie Pyle Legacy

Foundation recognizes Ernie Pyle’s contributions to the United States military and to the

journalism profession through public events, scholarships, and educational programs. For more

information, please visit erniepylefoundation.org or “like” us on Facebook.

Ernie Pyle was a pioneering World War II correspondent who was killed on April 18, 1945.

Born in Dana, Indiana, Pyle was one of the most influential reporters in both the European and Pacific

theatres throughout the war.

Pyle, who wrote as a roving correspondent for the Scripps-Howard newspaper chain, won a Pulitzer

Prize in 1944 for his first-person portrayals of the common American soldier.

He is currently at rest at the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific located in Honolulu.

The Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) foundation created by the closest living relatives of

Ernie Pyle in order to preserve his venerable reputation.

The foundation will endeavor to create public awareness of the journalistic accomplishments of Ernie

Pyle among generations of Americans who did not benefit from his reporting during that period of

global conflict.

On April 18, 2015, a major event will be held at the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific to

commemorate the 70th Anniversary of Pyle’s honorable sacrifice for his country.

Prominent guests and speakers will attend along with patriotic music and ceremonies.

The highlight of the event will be the dedication of a memorial stone, honoring Pyle as well as all of

the soldiers who gave their lives and the journalists who told their stories.


Congratulations to Phoebe Fox, La Pietra School for Girls student who won second place in the national SPJ high school essay contest. She is the daughter of Colette Pritchard Fox, longtime SPJ Hawaii member.

Download  Winning  Essay


Thanks to the judges of the Top of the Rockies contest:

Board members:
Dave Briscoe

Teresa Dawson

Nancy Cook Lauer

Christy Strobel

Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Richard Borreca

Nanea Kalani

Stirling Morita

Curtis Murayama

Mary Poole

Dave Shapiro

Christie Wilson

Alan Yonan

Lucy Young-Oda

PacificBasin Communications
Jen Tadako Catanzariti

Dennis Hollier

Kristin Lipman

Lennie Omalza

Steve Petranik

Christi Young